Go to SCD News table of contents

Go to UCAR home pageGo to NCAR home pageGo to SCD home pageGo to SCD News home pageGo to SCD internal pagesGo to SCD News home pageGo to Features archiveGo to News archiveGo to Tips archiveGo to Updates archive SCD News > Feature: May 10, 2002

NCAR's Warren Washington elected chair of National Science Board

Board advises president, Congress; serves as governing board for NSF

Warren Washington


The National Science Board in Washington, D.C., announced on 9 May 2002 that it has elected NCAR senior scientist Warren Washington as its new chair. The National Science Board has dual responsibilities as national science policy adviser to the president and Congress and as governing board for the National Science Foundation, an independent federal agency.

"I am extremely pleased to be able to serve the National Science Board and the National Science Foundation in this leadership position," says Washington. "I welcome the opportunity to work with the science board director and my colleagues on the board to further our nation's scientific advancement for the well-being of all its citizens."

The National Science Board has 24 members, appointed by the president and confirmed by the Senate. They are selected on the basis of their eminence in their fields; board members elect the chair and vice chair.

Washington is an internationally recognized expert in atmospheric science and climate research specializing in computer modeling of the Earth's climate. In recent years he has served his science in a broad range of capacities. He was appointed to the National Science Board in 1994 and reappointed in 2000; in 1998 he was appointed to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Science Advisory Board; in 1999 he was elected by the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution Board of Trustees as a member of the corporation for a three-year term; in 2000 he was appointed a member of the Advanced Scientific Computing Advisory Committee by the U.S. Secretary of Energy; and in February of this year he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering "for pioneering the development of coupled climate models, their use on parallel supercomputing architectures, and their interpretation."

He has also garnered numerous awards. Among these, the U.S. Department of Energy awarded Washington the Biological and Environmental Research Program Exceptional Service Award for Atmospheric Science in 1997, for the development and application of advanced coupled atmospheric-ocean general circulation models to study the impacts of human activities on future climate. Also in 1997 he was inducted into the National Academy of Sciences' Portrait Collection of African Americans in Science, Engineering, and Medicine.

In 1999 Washington received the National Weather Service Modernization Award. In January 2000 Washington was given the Dr. Charles Anderson Award from the American Meteorological Society for pioneering efforts as a mentor and passionate supporter of individuals, educational programs, and outreach initiatives designed to foster a diverse population of atmospheric scientists. In March 2000 Washington received the Celebrating 20th Century Pioneers in Atmospheric Sciences Award at Howard University and in April 2000 the Bonfils-Stanton Foundation Award in recognition of significant and unique contributions in the field of science.

Terms of service on the National Science Board are six years, with no member serving more than two consecutive terms; the terms of the chair and vice chair are two years.

The National Science Foundation's mission is to promote the progress of science; advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; and secure the national defense. The University Corporation for Atmospheric Research manages the National Center for Atmospheric Research under primary sponsorship by the National Science Foundation.

For more on the National Science Board, see http://www.nsf.gov/nsb/overview/about.htm.

SCD News   ||  UCAR  ||  NCAR   ||   SCD   ||   Contact us   ||  Search
NCAR is managed by UCAR and sponsored by the National Science Foundation